New secretaries are being lined up for nine federal departments.

Among changes described as one of the biggest reshuffles in recent years, changes at the highest level of the Australian Public Service have been announced.

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has confirmed that Michael Pezzullo, secretary of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection, is in line to lead the new Department of Home Affairs.

Meanwhile two deputy secretaries are moving up to the top level to fill the gaps left by former Health boss Martin Bowles, and Department of the Environment and Energy chief Gordon de Brouwer.

Kerri Hartland, who has been at the Department of Finance, will become the secretary of the Department of Employment.

Steven Kennedy is moving from the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet to become the new secretary of the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development.

Glenys Beauchamp will move from the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science to lead Health, while Finn Pratt is set to move from the Department of Social Services and take over Environment and Energy from de Brouwer.

Also, Renée Leon will also move from the Department of Employment to become the Secretary of the Department of Human Services.

 “These appointments lead to other movements,” Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull said in a statement.

“These Secretaries have extensive careers in the Australian Public Service at senior levels, with responsibility for a number of significant government reforms and programs. I thank these Secretaries for their continued leadership in the APS.

“These new Secretary appointments will be for five years, commencing on 18 September 2017.


“I thank the Secretaries for their public service and look forward to working with them in their new roles.”