The Federal Government has announced the full membership of the new Manufacturing Taskforce, announced at last month’s Future Jobs Forum.


The new taskforce will be responsible for mapping out a ‘shared vision’ for the future of Australia’s manufacturing sector while assiting local firms develop and adapt to the changing economy, specifically the rise of Asia.


It will identify a plan for how best to leverage existing efforts, including Government policies and programs, to best capture the opportunities and respond to the challenges facing manufacturing.


The full list is as follows:


  • The Hon Julia Gillard MP, Prime Minister (Chair)
  • Senator the Hon Kim Carr, Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research (Deputy Chair)
  • The Hon Wayne Swan MP, Deputy Prime Minister
  • Senator the Hon Chris Evans, Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and Workplace Relations
  • Senator the Hon Penny Wong, Minister for Finance and Deregulation
  • The Hon Craig Emerson, Minister for Trade
  • The Hon Jason Clare MP, Minister for Defence Materiel



  • Mr Philip Binns, Vice President and General Manager, Agilent Technologies
  • Mr Geoff Plummer, CEO, OneSteel
  • Mr Ian Thomas, President, Boeing
  • Ms Heather Ridout, CEO, AiG
  • Mr Mike Devereux, Chairman and Managing Director, Holden
  • Mr Chris Jenkins MD Thales
  • Mr Phil Butler, MD, Textor Technologies
  • Ms Rebecca Dee Bradbury, CEO, Kraft Australia



  • Mr Jeff Lawrence, ACTU
  • Mr Paul Howes, National Secretary, Australian Workers Union
  • Mr David Oliver, National Secretary, Australian Manufacturing Workers Union
  • Mr Michael O’Connor, CFMEU
  • Mr Charlie Donnelly, NUW
  • Ms Michele O’Neil, TCFUA


Science and Technology

  • Professor Roy Green, Professor and Dean of the Faculty of Business, University of Technology Sydney
  • Dr Megan Clark, Chief Executive, CSIRO
  • Professor Jonathan West, AIRC, University of Tasmania


The taskforce will convene for the first time in November.